The checkered flag has waved on the 2nd annual Iowa's Virtual Dirt Track Classic. Six champions were crowned at the conclusion of the Bill Colwell Ford Main Event on Thursday night.

In 2016, over 33,000 votes were cast to determine our five Bill Colwell Ford Main Event champions. The Iowa dirt track racing community shattered that mark by placing 76,066 votes in 2017 to determine this year's winners.

SPORTMOD/BMOD RECAP: Championship Round
The defending SportMod/Bmod #VDTC2016 champion Tony Olson had his hands full fending of challenges from Clint Luellen. Luellen held the lead coming off the weekend of the Championship round. The lead changed hands three times before it was Olson who scored the win to go back-to-back in this event. Luellen finished second, and Nate Chodur came home in third.

HOBBY STOCK RECAP: Championship Round
Benji Irvine was the class of the Hobby Stock field throughout the majority of the Bill Colwell Ford Main Event. Weston Koop made the most of his last chance qualifier spot into Round 2. His fans helped power him to the lead after day 4 of 7 in the third and final round. Irvine regained the lead entering Day 7, but Koop's fans helped him to win in the final hours. Irvine finished second. Shannon Anderson finished third.

STOCK CAR RECAP: Championship Round
Damon Murty was hammering the higside leading the #VDTC2017 Stock Car field. Nathan Wood hounded him the entire 21 days of voting, and he was able to get by to take the lead and the eventual win in the Bill Colwell Ford Main Event. Murty crossed the line in second followed by Chad Palmer.

LATE MODEL RECAP: Championship Round
Tyler Droste and Jeff Aikey put on an impressive battle for the #VDTC2017 Late Model win. Droste lead the whole way during the championship round of the Bill Colwell Ford Main Event, but it wasn't until the last few hours that he was able to gain a comfortable lead. Droste was able to defend his 2016 title crossing the line first. Aikey was second. Darrell DeFrance completed the top three finishers.

MODIFIED RECAP: Championship Results
Kelly Shryock had a huge lead coming after the first two days of championship round votes were counted, but Chris Zogg's fans helped power Zogg back into contention as the two raced towards the finish line. Zogg was able to grab the Bill Colwell Ford Main Event championship for the Modifieds. Shryock came home second, and Richie Gustin Jr finished third.

A new award in 2017 was the Iowa's Virtual Dirt Track Classic Grand Champion. The votes from all three rounds of our five champions were tabulated The driver who scored the most votes from all three rounds of this year's Bill Colwell Ford Main Event was declared as the 'Grand Champion'. That honor went to Droste who finished 3 votes ahead of Zogg for the title.

FEBRUARY 16, 2017

GRAND CHAMPION: 1. Tyler Dorste (LM), 2. Chris Zogg (Mod), 3. Tony Olson (Bmod), 4. Nathan Wood (Stock), 5. Weston Koop (Hobby).

MODIFIED: 1. Chris Zogg, 2. Kelly Shryock, 3. Richie Gustin Jr., 4. Corey Dripps, 5. Ricky Thorton Jr., 6. Vern Jackson.

LATE MODEL: 1. Tyler Droste, 2. Jeff Aikey, 3. Darrell DeFrance, 4. Ryan Dolan, 5. Matt Ryan, 6. Tyler Bruening.

STOCK CAR: 1. Nathan Wood, 2. Damon Murty, 3. Chad Palmer, 4. Tom Schmitt, 5. Devin Smith, 6. Mike Nichols.

HOBBY STOCK: 1. Weston Koop, 2. Benji Irvine, 3. Shannon Anderson, 4. Cody Nielsen, 5. Eric Stanton, 6. Matt White.

SPORTMOD/BMOD: 1. Tony Olson, 2. Clint Luellen, 3. Nate Chodur, 4. Jared VanDeest, 5. Tyler Soppe, 6. Doug Smith.

More From AM 950 KOEL