The National Pork Board named three pork producers as “Pig Farmers of Tomorrow.” Bailee Arnold of North Carolina, Ben Luebbering of Missouri, and Ben Wikner of Iowa were recognized at the 2019 National Pork Industry Forum in Orlando, Florida.

“It’s important for the Pork Checkoff to recognize the future leaders of the pork industry,” says National Pork Board President Steve Rommereim. “We are excited for these young farmers to share their unique stories with consumers.” The award recognizes farmer-leaders, ages 18-29, who intend to make pig farming their life’s work and who are committed to raising their pigs using the pork industry’s WeCareSM ethical principles.

The winners will go on to speak at Pork Checkoff events and provide content on #RealPigFarming, which is the pork industry’s social media program.

Arnold is a sow farm manager for Goldsboro Milling and manages nine employees who provide care for sows and piglets. Luebbering and his family own Profits Point Farm in Missouri, where they farrow and finish pigs. Wikner is a second-generation farmer whose family operates a farrow-to-wean farm. Wikner says, “It’s important for us to speak up so that our story gets told correctly. The connections we make can help dispel misconceptions about our farming practices.”

Source;  NAFB News

More From AM 950 KOEL