While it might seem a bit repetitive to us, Iowa's Caitlin Clark says that she is "incredibly humbled" by her latest major award.

The Daily Iowan reports that Clark was named the winner of the 93rd AAU James E. Sullivan Award. Since 1930 the award has been given to the most outstanding athlete at the collegiate or Olympic level. The winner each year is determined by the James E. Sullivan Award Committee, the AAU Board of Directors, sports media, and past winners of the award.

Clark becomes just the second Hawkeye ever to win the prestigious award. The Daily Iowan reports that former Iowa wrestler Spencer Lee took home the award in 2019. Lee and Clark are the only Hawkeyes to ever win the award. Other athletes who have won in the past include Olympic swimmer Michael Phelps, Iowa native and gold medal winner Shawn Johnson, and former NFL quarterback Peyton Manning. At the awards ceremony, Clark spoke about growing up with two brothers and playing with the boys.

The Daily Iowan reports that Clark stated that she was humbled to win the award and represent the University of Iowa. AAU President Jo Mirza stated, "Caitlin Clark is the epitome of what this award represents...and we can't wait to see what she accomplishes next." Neither can Iowa Hawkeye fans!


Our Favorite Photos From Iowa's Run to the NCAA Championship Game

The 2022-23 Iowa women's basketball season started on November 7 and concluded in the NCAA Championship Game against LSU on Sunday, April 2. Iowa went 31-7 and will be remembered forever for their five NCAA Tournament wins. Here are our favorite photos from the tournament.

Highlights of Iowa's 2023 Opening Victory Over Utah State

Iowa won the opener 24-14 on Saturday, September 2.

More From AM 950 KOEL