Iowa dirt track drivers shine in opening night of the Spring Nationals in Beatrice, NE. Nine top five finishes and one win. See complete A-Main results for Night 1.

Originally scheduled for March 10-11, 2017, track officials moved the the event moved to start one day earlier based on the weather forecast.

Thursday, March 9, 2017 was the opening night of the Spring Nationals, and several Iowa dirt track teams made the pull to Beatrice, NE. It's an annual pilgrimage that signifies that dirt track racing is about to return and our Hawkeye Hotshoes are about to fire up their engines at our favorite race tracks.

A lot of our Iowa drivers made their mark on the three-eights dirt oval with 35 drivers qualifying for the main event in four divisions. Nine raced their way to finish in the top five, and one lead the way to the checkered flag.

Damon Murty (Chelsea, IA) topped a stacked IMCA Stock Car field and scored his first win of the 2017 season. Randy Brands (Boyden, IA) and Jay Scmidt (Tama, IA) finished third and fourth respectively.

Kyle Brown (Madrid, IA) raced to a second place in the IMCA Modified A-Main behind hometown favorite Jordan Grabouski (Beatrice, NE). Jacob Murray (Hartford, IA) was the other Iowa driver who end the night in the top five.

Jonathon Logue Jr. (Boone, IA) crossed the finish line fourth followed by Carter Vandenberg (Oskaloosa, IA) in the IMCA Northern SportMod feature. Andrew Borchart (Mason City, IA) and Luke Ramsey (Bedford, IA) rounded out the top five for the IMCA Hobby Stock A-Main.

The Spring Nationals final night at Beatrice Speedway is tonight (March 10), with all four division competing again. Learn more about Beatrice Speedway by logging onto their web site at

MARCH 9, 2017

1. Jordan Grabouski, Beatrice, NE; 2. Kyle Brown, Madrid, IA; 3. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, MO; 4. Jacob Murray, Hartford, IA; 5. Dylan Smith, Osceola, NE; 6. Ricky Alvarado Delta, CO; 7. Jesse Sobbing, Malvern, IA; 8. Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice, NE; 9. Chris Abelson, Sioux City , IA; 10. Eddie Belec Arvada, CO; 11. Anthony Roth, Columbus, NE; 12. Tyler Frye, Belleville, KS; 13. Clinton Luellen, Minburn, IA; 14. Jay Noteboom, Hinton, IA; 15. Shane Hiatt, Rising City, NE; 16. Josh Gilman, Earlham, IA; 17. Adam Armstrong, Beatrice, NE; 18. Tyler Hall, Fertile, MN; 19. Mike Greseth, Harwood, ND; 20. Bob Moore, Sioux CIty, IA; 21. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay, WI; 22. Tim Watts, Beliot, KS; 23. Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown, IA; 24. Terry Phillips, Springfield, MO.

1 Lance Borgman, Beatrice, NE; 2. Justin Addison, Norfolk, NE; 3. Colby Langenberg, Norfolk, NE; 4 John Logue, Boone, IA; 5. Carter Vandenberg, Oskaloosa, IA; 6. Brian Osantowski, Columbus, NE; 7. Jake McBirnie, Boone, IA; 8. Benji Legg 2X Beatrice, NE; 9. Jesse Skalicky, Fargo, ND; 10. Mike Tanner, Smithville, MO; 11. Arie Schouten, Blair, NE; 12. Lee Horky, Fairbury, NE; 13. Todd Boulware, Jefferson, SD; 14. Ethan Braaksma, Newton, IA; 1.5 Jason Andrews, Estherville, IA; 16. Nelson Vollbrecht, Stanton, NE; 17. Jarred Hackler, Juniata, NE; 18. Matt Andrews, Seward, NE; 19. Taylor Metz, Washington, KS; 20. Brett Meyer, Lytton, IA; 21. Tyler Watts, Beloit, KS; 22. Tyler Soppe, Sherrill, IA. 23. Austin Heacock, Peosta, IA; 24. Austin Luellen, Minburn, IA.

1. Damon Murty, Chelsea, IA; 2. Dustin Schmidt, Fairbury, NE; 3. Randy Brands, Boyden, IA; 4. Jay Schmidt, Tama, IA; 5. Dan Nelson, Holmesville, NE; 6. Jed Williams, Shickley, NE; 7. Caleb Crenshaw, Ft Worth, TX; 8. Shane Stutzman, Milford, NE; 9. Dan Mackenthan, Hamburg, MN; 10. Jason See, Albia, IA; 11. Heath Tulp, Kanawha, IA; 12. Alvie Christofferson, St Joseph, MO; 13. Marcus Fagan, Adair, IA; 14. Tyler Phelps, Beatrice, NE; 15. John Meyer, Odell, NE; 16. Jason Kreft, Beatrice, NE; 17. Gary Mattison, Lamberton, MN; 18. Jason Schoenberger, Russell, KS; 19. Les Lundquist, Souix City, IA; 20. Mike Albertsen, Audubon, IA; 21. Shawn Primrose, Norfolk, NE; 22. Jason Rogers, Selden, KS; 23. Nathan Chukuske, Welcome, MN; 24 Jason Ward, Sioux City, IA.

1. Brady Bencken, Oakley, KS; 2. Damon Richards, David City, NE; 3. Brendon Stigge, Fairbury, NE; 4. Andrew Borchardt, Mason City, IA; 5. Luke Ramsey, Bedford, IA; 6. Jeff Ware, Columbus, NE; 7. Nick Ronnenbaum, Onaga, KS; 8. Jacob Harms, Beatrice, NE; 9. Corey Madden, Avoca, IA; 10. Mark Saathoff, Beatrice, NE; 11. Chad Borgman, Beatrice, NE; 12. Taylor Huss, Fairbury, NE; 13. Blake Arends, Little Rock, IA; 14. Chad Lonneman, Adrian, MN; 15. Greg Gilbert, Osceola, IA; 16. Jeff Watts, Beatrice, NE; 17. Aaron Shearn, Sioux City, IA; 18. Tyler Davis, Fairbury, NE; 19. Chuck Madden Jr, Avoca, IA; 20. Brandon Wergin, Milforn, NE; 21. Kevin Bruck, Dunlap, IA; 22. Jesse VanLaningham, Beatrice, NE; 23. Roy Armstrong, Beatrice, NE; 24. Nate Desive, O'Neill, NE.

More From AM 950 KOEL