The Oelwein Community School Board will have a special meeting tonight (Sept. 6) to appoint someone to fill a vacant seat on the board.

The vacancy was created when director David Eick submitted his resignation on August 10th. Eick decided to step down due to other work obligations.

Tonight's special meeting begins at 6pm in the administration office.

Also pertaining to the Oelwein School board, the Oelwein Area Retired School Personnel Association is sponsoring a "meet the candidates" school board forum, starting at 7pm tonight.

The hour-and-a-half event will take place in the Oelwein Middle School auditorium.

Four seats are up for election on September 12th; there are 7 candidates, 3 of whom are incumbents. They are board members: Dana Bostian, Bob Kalb and Charlene Stocker. Current board director Dave Schmidt is not running.

The other four candidates are: Dustin Franzen, Jeremy Logan, Gregory Parmely, and Julie Williams.

At tonight's forum, the candidates will be asked questions regarding their reasons for running for school board.

The forum will be moderated by KOEL News Director, Roger King.

More From AM 950 KOEL