Ten teams from the Cedar Valley and northeast Iowa are featured in this week's Associated Press high school football rankings, which were released on Monday (Oct. 1, 2018).

Waterloo Columbus Catholic and Wapsie Valley are among four newcomers that are included among the top 10 of the sixth poll of the season. Columbus (2A) and Wapsie Valley (A) -- each 5-1 overall -- are both ranked No. 9 in their respective classes. Wapsie Valley returns to the poll after a two week absence, while the Sailors are rated for the first time since finishing 8-3 overall in 2010.

Joining Columbus in the 2A rankings are No. 4 Waukon and No. 7 La Porte City Union, while North Tama and Edgewood-Colesburg are both ranked ahead of Wapsie Valley in the Class-A poll (at No. 4 and No. 7, respectively). Hudson leads the Class-A survey for the sixth-straight week. The Pirates put their 17-game regular-season winning streak on the line this week when they face ninth-rated Wapsie Valley in a top-10 District 7 showdown.

Dike-New Hartford sits on top of the Class-2A poll for the second week in a row, while Cedar Falls kept its spot at No. 2 in Class-4A.

An upset Friday night cost two-time defending state champion Don Bosco the No. 1 spot in the eight-player survey. The Dons fell to No. 5 this week following an 18-0 home loss to then-No. 10 Northwood-Kensett in Gilbertville.

The setback ended Don Bosco's winning streak at 25 games and was only the second regular-season loss for the Dons since they made the transition to eight-player football for the 2012 season. It marked the first time Don Bosco failed to score in a game since a 42-0 setback to North Tama on Oct. 1, 2010.

Seven other teams from the Cedar Valley and northeast received votes in the latest six-class poll, but just missed being ranked among the top 10. Those teams included: Waverly-Shell Rock, Decorah, West Delaware, Crestwood, Sumner-Fredericksburg, Grundy Center, and Turkey Valley.

The Top Ten teams in the Associated Press Iowa high school football polls of the 2018 season with first-place votes in parentheses and won-loss record, total points and position last week at right:

1. West Des Moines Valley (8)6-0981
2. Cedar Falls (1)6-0882
3. Ankeny Centennial (1)6-0803
4. Bettendorf5-1614
5. Johnston5-1545
6. West Des Moines Dowling4-2527
7. Iowa City West5-1516
8. Indianola6-0288
9. Waukee4-2219
10. Cedar Rapids Prairie5-11410

Others receiving votes: Fort Dodge 3.

1. Cedar Rapids Xavier (9)6-0991
2. Council Bluffs Lewis Central (1)6-0892
3. Solon6-0813
4. Pella6-0704
5. Eldridge North Scott5-1516
6. Sergeant Bluff-Luton5-1455
7. Epworth Western Dubuque5-1337
8. Clear Creek-Amana6-0328
9. Harlan5-1249
10. Sioux City Heelan5-11710

Others receiving votes: Waverly-Shell Rock 5. Decorah 2. Manchester West Delaware 2.

1. Monroe PCM (10)6-01001
2. Boyden-Hull-RV5-1873
3. Algona6-0774
4. Waukon5-1746
5. State Center West Marshall5-1588
6. Van Horne Benton5-1379
7. Union, La Porte City4-23510
8. Spirit Lake5-1342
9. Waterloo Columbus5-115NR
10. Greene County5-1105

Others receiving votes: Chariton 6. Des Moines Christian 5. Clear Lake 5. Cresco Crestwood 3. Carroll Kuemper 2. Southeast Valley 1. West Liberty 1.

1. Dike-New Hartford (4)6-0891
2. Van Meter (3)6-0822
3. Bellevue (3)6-0763
4. South Central Calhoun6-0664
5. Mediapolis6-0515
6. Hawarden West Sioux5-150T6
(tie) West Branch5-150T6
8. Inwood West Lyon5-1348
9. Truro Interstate 356-0309
10. Wilton5-117NR

Others receiving votes: Sumner-Fredericksburg 2. Cascade 1. Mount Ayr 1. Treynor 1.

1. Hudson (7)6-0961
2. A-H-S-T-W, Avoca (3)6-0892
3. Algona Garrigan6-0853
4. Traer North Tama5-157T6
5. Brooklyn BGM6-0509
6. Belmond-Klemme5-1454
7. Edgewood-Colesburg5-14210
8. St. Ansgar4-2208
9. Fairbank Wapsie Valley5-119NR
10. Riverside Highland6-117NR

Others receiving votes: Packwood Pekin 7. Alta 6. Hinton 5. Sloan Westwood 4. Mason City Newman 2. Britt West Hancock 2. Grundy Center 2. Akron-Westfield 1. Sioux Rapids Sioux Central 1.

1. New London (4)6-0922
2. Elk Horn-Kimballton Exira (2)6-0823
3. Westside Ar-We-Va (2)6-0784
4. Northwood-Kensett6-07310
5. Gilbertville-Don Bosco (1)5-1541
6. Marengo Iowa Valley (1)6-0525
7. Liberty Center SE Warren7-0367
8. Central City6-0309
9. Fremont Mills, Tabor5-1268
10. Wyoming Midland6-16NR
(tie) Audubon4-26NR

Others receiving votes: Newell-Fonda 5. Stanton 5. Jackson Junction Turkey Valley 4. HLV, Victor 1.

More From AM 950 KOEL