The Iowa Hawkeyes may have finished sixth in the Big Ten, but the All-Big Ten first team includes two Hawks. Both freshman Caitlin Clark and junior Monika Czinano are on the first team, with Clark also named freshman of the year.

Clark, from West Des Moines, is the first Hawkeye freshman to ever be named First Team All-Big Ten. She had nine 30-point games and eight more conference games where she scored at least 20.

Clark's stats are eye-popping. According to the Iowa Sports Information Department, she leads the nation in total points scored with 631. Clark is also the nation's leading scorer per game (27.7) and leads the country in made 3-pointers (92). She's second in assists (158), made field goals (210), and triple-doubles (1). Despite those amazing numbers, it wasn't a surprise that Clark didn't win the conference player of the year award.

Stephen Mally,

Michigan junior forward Naz Hillmon was named the Big 10 Conference Player of the Year, ending a 3-year run of the award going to Iowa Hawkeyes. Megan Gustafson won it in 2018 and 2019, with Kathleen Doyle taking the award in 2020. Hillmon averaged 25 points, and 11 rebounds per game this season. She's the first Wolverine to ever win the award.

Clark was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year after winning the conference player of the week honor an incredible 13 times. She was also named the Big 10 Player of the Week five times. Clark is the sixth Hawkeye to win Freshman of the Year, and the first in more than a decade. Jaime Printy of Linn-Mar was the last to do it, in 2010.

Stephen Mally,

Iowa junior Monika Czinano also garnered first team All-Big Ten from the media, as well as the coaches. She averaged 17.8 points, and 6.1 rebounds per game, in Big Ten play. She shot a conference-best 64.7 percent from the field and had 17 double-figure scoring games.

Stephen Mally,

Iowa redshirt sophomore Kate Martin was named Iowa's Sportsmanship Award winner. She led Iowa in assist to turnover ratio with 2.47 assists per turnover. That was good for fourth in the Big Ten and 30th in the nation.

Cedar Rapids Washington prep Brenda Frese, the coach of conference champion Maryland, was named Big Ten Coach of the Year. It's the fourth time she's received the honor.

Iowa opens Big Ten Tournament play Wednesday night against Purdue. More on the tourney is available HERE.

CHECK IT OUT: 100 sports records and the stories behind them